Texas to Nebraska Summer 2017 p.1

Posted: August 2, 2017 in Table Of Contents, TRAVEL / Gatherings
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have spent most of the past year building up the Helping Hands Network in East Texas and now it is time for a road trip to visit some of the areas established in the past.

 

Over the weeks leading up to my trip I restored my ’85 Mercedes 300DT enough that it would make another 1500 mile round trip to visit my family in Nebraska. It was still lacking air conditioning, cruise control, a rear shock and had a damaged front sway bar but I had confidence in it.  I prepared to be on the road for a few weeks, made all the necessary arrangements around my home and with work commitments and packed my bags.

 

The morning I was going to load up and leave, my main work partner, Greg, sent me a text asking to help him with some last minute small jobs before I left. He picked me up and took us to one of our clients who just happen to have a 2006 Honda Element for sale. On the way there Greg explained that he appreciated that I do not raise my labor rates and that he purchased the Honda Element for me to drive so I would have a safe vehicle. He would take care of the insurance and registration if I did all the mechanical and cosmetic maintenance.  It was one of the nicest things anyone has ever done for me.

Honda Element

 

The Honda needed fluids, new tires/bumper/windshield, a tow bar and a serious bath. It had been stored in the deep woods for years without a cleaning and had a thick layer of mildew all over it. We spent the day getting all the paper work together and cleaning it.

 

I left Hawkins, TX  on Friday afternoon and made it to the Northeast Texas boat races by sunset. Lake Crook north of Paris was the site of this years party. The campground was completely full of fancy trailers, campers and boats with massive engines. I heard loud music and followed it to the far corner. When I arrived, there were people dancing and drinking around their ATV’s as a band played. There boats and campers all around and the band was being powered by a portable power station trailer. The gates were closing at 11 so I walked around looking at the boats and then left at 10:45 to continue down the road to Tulsa.

Boat Races

 

I stopped at a rest area just south of Tulsa around 2am. This morning, July 29, was the Tulsa and OKC Choctaw Pow-wow’s so I went and explored the grounds before continuing on my journey. I get so upset when visiting these large commercialized pow-wow’s that are nothing like the authentic private ceremonies you find deep in Indian country. Hopefully there will be a traditional gathering along my path through Sioux land in the days ahead.

 

I arrived in Omaha around 4pm and did a quick tour of visits at all my local hangouts. It was nice to catch up with so many of my friends. One particular couple, the Valgora’s, have spent the past 25 years opening their doors to those in need and I always make it a point to visit and remind them how much their efforts are appreciated. Unfortunately on this visit they were at a movie and could not be reached in time.

Many of my friends met up with me at the evening dart tournament so I signed up to compete. I was partnered up with one of my best friends lady friend and we were able to win our way to first place and some nice cash.

 

After the tournament I continued on my way to a rest stop in Lincoln to get some sleep. The next morning I picked up some food and went to one of the best workout areas in town, Holmes Lake. On this morning the Cornhusker State Game Bike Races were happening so I was surrounded by yoga lovers as I did my routine.

Holmes Lake

I then went to my favorite meditation gardens in the middle of town. Lincoln has one of the largest networks of Gardens in the world event though they only grow 8 months out of the year.

 

Sunken Gardens

Sunken Gardens 2

 

 

I toured some of my favorite hang out spots like the Haymarket, University Campus, Antelope Park and then headed for the State Games Dart Tournament where several more of my friends would be. There are even BMX and Remote Control Vehicle complex’s! (pictured below)

 

 

My final destination in Lincoln would be Pioneers Park and the Buddhist Temple for a Sunset meditation. Just two more examples of how many amazing places there are to enjoy in this fabulous city.

 

 

I finally concluded this leg of the journey by arriving at my mother’s house in Grand Island for a good nights rest. My brother, his wife and their 1 year old were staying at the house as well while they were waiting for their new house to be ready. It was a nice surprise to be able to spend the entire time with all of them as I repacked for the next leg of the journey through my ancestor’s Indian land en-route to the Black Hills.

 
(p.2 Black Hill’s 2017 blog coming soon!)

 

Leave a Reply

